• Home
  • 2014 Trash Dash 5K Run

[back to Special Events Blog]

2014 Sustainable Tallahassee Trash Dash 5K

November 8, 2014

Our fourth annual Trash Dash was another successful cross country 5K Run at the Apalachee Regional Park on Apalachee Parkway.  We are indebted to Leon County for facility support and to Gulf Winds Track Club for logistical support. 

Special thanks are extended to our event sponsors for their generous financial support and commitment to Sustainable Tallahassee’s mission.  Their support enables Sustainable Tallahassee to continue our quest to make our community a healthy model for sustainability, and we are truly grateful.

Much appreciation goes to this year’s Trash Dash committee:  Ed Bettinger, board member and committee chair, Jim Davis, ST’s new Executive Director, and Stew Parsons, former board member and former Executive Director. And many thanks to Leon County and to our volunteers who came out early to help.


Maximo Mendoza led the runners on his electric bicycle. 

Midway through lap one runners spread out.

Tom Taylor*                                                      John Leeds*                                                  Brian Desloge*
      ST Board Member                                           ST Board Member                                Leon County Commissioner

Volunteers Ray Hanlon, Bill Lott, Jeanne O'Kon,                 
  Ken Goldberg, Becky Parsons, Stew Parsons,             
  Susan Mertz, and Mark Powell    

Anthony Gaudio, ST President
Jim Davis, new ST Executive Director
Stew Parsons, former Board member, former ST Executive Director

Overall Male Winner: Roger Schmidt                
 Overall Female Winner: Katie Sherron
 Master Male Winner:  Mike LaBossiere                    
 Master Female Winner:  Fran McLean (not pictured)

Regine Maligne, volunteer at food table.

Mary Jean Yon & Jeanne O'Kon of Gulf Winds tabulating results

Ken Goldberg, super model!

*For more pictures of the 2014 Trash Dash and individual runners, check out these by Fred Deckert:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software